Cleveland Indians

The Cleveland Indians are an American professional baseball team based in Cleveland. The Indians play in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the American League (AL) Central Division. Since 1994, they have played at Progressive Field. Since their establishment as a Major League franchise in 1901, the team has won 10 Central Division titles, two championships from World Series (in 1920 and 1948). The team's losing streak since 1948 is the longest of the 30 current Major League teams.
The club's name and cartoon logo have been criticized for perpetuating Native American stereotypes. In 1997 and 1998, protesters were arrested after effigies were burned.
On January 29, 2018, Major League Baseball announced that Chief Wahoo would be removed from the Indians' uniforms beginning with the 2019 season, stating that the logo was no longer appropriate for use on the field. The "C" was promoted as the primary logo. At the time, there were no plans to change the team's name, but the events following the murder of George Floyd prompted franchise officials to consider changing the franchise's name.
The fans of the franchise and the top management agreed on the name "Cleveland Guardians".

En savoir plus close
Product successfully added to the product comparison!